top of page
Zoeken
  • Foto van schrijverGintasticbelgium

Unterholz Gin: Tasting notes + full review


Tasting notes and perfect serve


N: I opened the bottle and immediately I had cinnamon that came into my nose. But in a fun way. It played the leading role, but it wasn't going to dominate the whole spirit. I also had some fresh notes, mainly orange. After smelling several times, I could also notice some camomile, this gives the gin a nice floral touch. Unfortunately, I missed some juniper in my nose. Juniper was there, but it does not play a leading role. If I let the glass stand a little bit, I also have some fresh pine fragrances. P: Now I immediately get juniper in the taste, that's a good start! In the background the pine flavour is playing together with the fresh notes of lemongrass. Cinnamon brings a lot of warmth. Nice! The Gin stays pretty soft all the time, which is a pleasure to drink pure. Once again he gets a somewhat floral touch at the end, this brings a very nice balance to the gin. F: Medium, with some spice! In the finish I also pick up cardemom! A good gin. S: I made my Gin & Tonic with a Thomas Henry tonic. This makes the whole thing a bit dryer and also brings the cardamom a bit to the top. The fresh keys remain in place, but I supported them a little more by adding a slice of orange and a slice of lemon. I must admit, I love to drink it pure, perhaps even more this way than with a tonic. But I can certainly say: " Good job Unterholz!"




Background information


To start the week I bring you the Unterholz Gin straight from Germany. Launched by 3 men, 3 brothers and made by the Peripheriqeu Company. Creativity and business are two important aspects in their family. Together they organize a music festival called "The Sound of The Forest". The idea behind the gin? Making a drink that would be essential at the festival. A drink that allows you to remember festivals all year round. In addition to the Ciders they already had, they now also made a Gin. Unterholz Gin "The gin is named after one of the stages at the festival. The botanicals are a secret and remain a secret. We do know that there are 3 botanicals coming from the forest. As you can see it's all a big mystery! . The Gin has an ABV of 37.5% which in itself is much lower than the last gins we brought to you.


It's a wrap for this Unterholz gin, tomorrow we are back with a new one!

Cheers,

Gintasticbelgium





19 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page